Peña De Francia Church

Today I went for a walk to the Peña De Francia Church in Naga City, Camarines Sur, Bicol. I thought it was a bit further than it was; but it is probably no more or less than a quarter mile from my apartment in Naga City. I feel bad that I have not been there sooner. I really love old Churches; the architecture and their art work as I have shared in previous posts.

20170119_112627
Nunn’s from India doing a pilgrimage

While taking shots outside the church the street kids approached me begging for money. I had already put my loose change in the donation box. Since I had no change to give the kids they used foul language… Terrible parents raising them. The have never learned to use proper polite language on Church grounds. The church is surrounded by a poverty stricken squatter type neighborhood. Perhaps I should not expect better of them.

img_3886

The Nave of the Church is not very wide but it is fairly long. Along the wall there are the Stations of the Cross, Fans, and Flat Screen TV’s to help deliver the word of God. I am not fond of excess technology in the church; but I guess it may be cheaper than issuing and tracking bench Bibles.

img_3892
Statue of the Peña De Francia

Looking around I seen the ceiling paintings. I found them to be quite nice. I can’t imagine how difficult it must be to paint like this on a ceiling. I guess laying down on the job, on a scaffold.

img_3885
Brass Light Fixture

I am a person who is fond of old things. I love antique shows, museums, and collectable heirlooms. These light fixtures really caught my eyes. To me it seemed obvious that these may not have always been electric. I might be wrong; but to imagine these with the Brass polished with legitimate slow burning candles in them must be a wonderful sight to imagine.  I would love to know how old these are.

img_3896

Thanks to my followers who read and like my photos. If there is a place in Bicol or Southern Luzon you think I may be interested in seeing just let me know.

 

 

David Lee Martin

Functional US Army Veteran

One thought on “Peña De Francia Church

Leave a comment