What is Wildlife Photography?

This is a bit of a rant I guess. I follow photographers on Instagram and on Twitter. I enjoy seeing the work’s of other photographers; the places they go and what they get to experience. I am jealous sometimes, I admit it. 

Eurasian Tree Sparrow, free as a bird 😉

When I observe the post I also look at locations and tags. I have a pet peeve. That is how people tag their images. A bird in an aviary or cage is NOT wildlife. An animal in a zoo is NOT wildlife. It is in captivity. It is imprisoned by walls, screens, netting, and glass. Most are bred into this and have never known the freedom’s of wide open spaces. 
So what is wildlife photography to me? To me wildlife photography is the ability to capture a photo of an animal in its natural habitat. No barriers or restrictions. Where they can run, fly, or swim as far as they want. Doing what they do best without the influence or restrictions of man. 

I don’t have a problem with those who bait birds with seeds and such as long as they aren’t trapping them. You are actually helping the birds sometimes with feeders and baths. 

What set this off was a tweet. A man posted a photo of a couple beautiful parrots a while ago perched on a “T” post with meshing in the background; obviously an aviary. One of the tags he used was #wildlifephotography. I was very annoyed by that. At one time maybe. But in this case no longer. Just because the animal can be found in the wild does not mean that a photo in a zoo or aviary is wildlife. In most cases it is domesticated and lost its fear of humans and natural instincts. 

Rant over. What do you define as wildlife photography? Are you using hash tags? 

Follow me on Instagram. david_lee_martin

As always, thanks for following, reading, and viewing. Yesterday was my one year anniversary here on WordPress. Thanks to all those who read and those who give me feedback. God Bless all.


David Lee Martin

Functional US Army Veteran.

2 thoughts on “What is Wildlife Photography?

  1. I have seen some pretty good wildlife in the bars at Patpong!😉 But as you said it ain’t wildlife if it is in a confined space. Perhaps, if the picture is captioned correctly i.e. Buffalo in wildlife park/ranch then it would be truthful and acceptable. Ethics is the key to photography. You start adding and deleting things from images to get your point across then you are not only lying to us but to yourself as well. On the other hand, what would we call it then? Semi-wildlife? Hmmmm!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

