The Assassin

This morning I was sitting at my laptop when I noticed something move on the wall out of the corner of my eye. It was a unique looking reddish-orange bug with a black head and a black patch near it’s end and a long snout. I watched it crawl down the wall about a foot where it stopped to observe some Ants scouting about. About 10 seconds later it pounced the ant! Predator, how cool is that! 

So after a bit of research with Google I found it. It’s actually called an Assassin bug. Latin: reduviidae vespers purpupeus. Seems legit to me. One guy commented on a site about how he leave’s them alone cause it reduces ants. Fair enough, I will let these guys live too.

I also found that in 1988 the Philippines postal service featured these guys on a one peso stamp. I guess they were well liked back then also. Go get ’em killer.

The Camera used is a Canon EOS 1200D with a Sigma lens 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG Macro with hood, no filters, macro on, and manual focus.

If you like reading my blog and seeing my photography can you please assist me in my future endeavors.  Please visit the link below. 

www.patreon.com/davidleemartin 
Also you can follow my photography on instagram: david_lee_martin. Thank you! 

Feel free to share links to my blog anywhere. I greatly appreciate the following. As always, thank you for reading and viewing.
David Lee Martin

Functional US Army Veteran.

2 thoughts on “The Assassin

Leave a Reply

