Typhoon Nina Hits Us

img_3686
Barangay Agaas, Caramoan. House collapse and tree fall.

Its been a few weeks since my last post. Been a bit busy entertaining a guest who came from abroad to visit, a Christmas Eve Typhoon, a lack of Electricity, and Traveling to and from Naga City a few times. In this blog post I am going to share photos of the damage to the Barangay, or village, in which I live.

 

img_3693
Front Awning Blown away

 

My heart goes out to the locals here because most are really low income households. My home received minimal damage. we had a water line break and the tin roof awning to our guest house blew apart. However, Others were not so lucky.

img_3695
Barangay Agaas, Caramoan. Windows Boarded, roof taken.

 

img_3696
Barangay Agaas, Caramoan. House collapsed.

 

The typhoon passed rather quickly in the night. But the power of it was very intense. My home is made of Concrete and brick; rather solid from the ground up. Other families had homes of wood and nipper which is the leafy type roof. The wind was so powerful that I could feel my home shake from it. Windows rattled hard. wind pushed a lot of water through the window seals.

img_3720
Barangay Agaas, Caramoan. House collapsed.

 

It is hard to see this and not feel so sorry for them. Life in the province is already difficult for some and this really hit too hard for many. If I had a lot of money I would do more to help. But I am not able to do as I wish I could. Our Peninsula since December 24th has had no Grid electric. We power our home at night by Generator and others come to our place to watch television or charge their mobiles. Communication signal returned the 29th to our area. Efforts for utility seems to be on going but it will be a while before it reaches my place.

img_3713
Barangay Agaas, Caramoan. Back side

 

For some of the younger generation this damage was a bit hard to grasp. They never experience anything like this. Typhoon Nina started out in the Pacific Ocean as a tropical storm and within a couple days hit us as a Signal 4 Typhoon, the storm had very strong gusts of wind and rain. Many trees fell, many damaged, and some even landed on homes.

img_3717
Barangay Agaas, Caramoan. Young girl still trying to grasp what happened.

 

Here the main source of income is Copra.  That is the dried meat of the coconut. It is used to make coconut oils and extracts. My wife is telling me that since so many of the trees were damaged they may not produce fruits for a while since the energy of the plant will go back into recovery. That is a major financial blow to locals in the long term.

IMG_3849.JPG
Damaged Coconut Trees

 

img_3867
Roof Blown off

 

Recover will not be easy. Some will do with what they have and some will rebuild with what is left.

img_3684
24DECEMBER2016

On the 24th I took this photo of this house because I was having a discussion with my friend in the US about how strong this storm is. I explained that I was concerned and that there would be damage to homes like this one taken on the 24th. I did not expect it to actually be this one. It was only meant to be an example of how many local homes are structured.

img_3685
25DECEMBER2016

While I was in the military I was stationed at Fort Bragg in North Carolina. I been through a few hurricanes. But not one that I have witnessed had this kind of intensity. This was a signal 4. The one that hit Tacloban a few years ago and killed over 10,000 people was a signal 5 super typhoon. I am thankful we were not that badly hit.

img_3863
9JANUARY2017

I give thanks to God and Jesus that no one in my area was killed or severely injured. There were a few deaths reported in our province but no one immediately close to us. This could have been worse. But for now, it is time for my neighbors and friends to rebuild and do their best to survive the aftermath. Thanks for Reading and viewing.

 

David Lee Martin

Functional US Army Veteran

davemartindsshop8@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Typhoon Nina Hits Us

  1. Hi David, this place that you lives reminds me very much of my childhood, where houses are built with planks and with zinc roofing. We don’t even have electricity or tap water. Water are drawn from wells and kerosene lamps are being used.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

