Peña Francia Basilica & National Shrine

This last week I went to the Basilica in Naga City, Bicol. I heard so much about how big and beautiful it was. After seeing the Church I was shocked a bit… It did not meet the expectations that I had based on all they hype my Filipino friends and In-laws said it was. I was expecting older and more classic as I love old religious structures and churches. I took a bunch of Photos any ways. I used a Pentax X-5. All photos are natutal shots. No editing. Just as the lense seen it. 










Once again I feel a place of worship has been taken over by too much technology. Projection screens, cameras, and fans mounted all over. I think of it as a distraction. Bring back Bibles and Hymn books. The paintings of the station’s of the Cross were Not protected from the birds capping all over them. I would hope to think that the clergy would want to better care for it’s religious relics. Anyways, I hope you like the photos.
David Lee Martin

Functional US Army Veteran

Leave a Reply

