The 2016 Ford Ranger

I recently decided to buy a new vehicle. Something affordable and practical that can be used for work, hauling things, and family use. So I am taking a look at the Ford Ranger series. I would prefer the F150 but they no longer sell that line in the Philippines.


These pictures are from Google Search.


I was looking to buy directly with cash with a budget of about $18,000 – $20,000. It has been a long time since I bought a new vehicle. Inflation kinda slapped me around a bit, international import tarifs might also have play in the cost. The cheapest model I am considering to buy is the Ford Ranger XLT with automatic transmission at a cost of PHP 1,279,000 ($27,500 +/-). I refuse to finance anything, especially in the Philippines. Banks here they rob the people with financing. With their 5 year plan; if I were dumb enough to finance, the total would be PHP 1,844,370. So it looks like I will be pinching pennies for a few months. Maybe I will be looking at the 2017 models when I am ready.


My philisophy is that if I did not already need it to survive already, then I don’t really need it. I just want it. It is always best to save your earnings and pay cash. It just takes a lot of discipline. In the end you will thank yourself. It will feel like an earned accomplishment. That brand new car smell is more gratifying when you sit inside and know you owe no one for interest and financing. That it’s 100% yours; paid for with hard work, blood, sweat, and tears, and especially patience And self-discipline. 

Automatic Transmission


What are your thoughts on Mid-size trucks? What brand do you prefer or would you recommend? I like Fords because they have always been known to be good American farm trucks and reliable when properly maintained. 


David Lee Martin

Functional US Army Veteran

2 thoughts on “The 2016 Ford Ranger

  1. Hi David, what you say perfectly makes sense, there is the different between needs and want. If you buy a car under finance you got to be a slave to the bank paying off the debt. And value of the car gets depreciated every year. There are people who along the way could not afford to pay the instalments and have no alternatives but to sell but alas, the sale price of their vehicle couldn’t pay off their loan with the bank.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another positive to saving is that you may come across what you wanted even cheaper. Such as a repossessed car or a trade in. Most people keep their cars clean and well maintained during the warrantee period. So a few Kilometers on the dial don’t hurt. What matters is a good maintenance record and clenliness. But I am going for new. It’s been a long time since I was first for anything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

