The Parish of Saint Dominic of Guzman

THE PARISH OF SAINT DOMINIC OF GUZMAN

 

On Monday I went to Barangay Tabgon during a short Ride. It is a Barangay within the municipality of Caramoan, Philippines. This week they are having their church fiesta. I took a few moments to take photos of the church and thought I would share.

Tabgon is a small seaside village and has a small area that small boats can come up to, but only at high tide. When the tide is low you can walk about a 100 yards out. It is not as convenient as the local Bikal or Guijalo ports.

This also just happens to be the Church my wife and I got married in in 2014. I was 60+ pounds heavier then, now I cant even keep the slacks up without cinching the belt down tight.

IMG_3213

IMGP0743

This project has been ongoing for about a year now. They have been doing a lot of work on it and they do accept donations to assist with buying of materials and paying for local labor.

People from the surrounding Barangay’s come here on Sunday. Some from as far as 5 Km away, walking or riding a motor bike.  All these pews will be filled with some people standing along the sides or sitting in the center isle.

I used my Pentax X-5 for these shots. Next time I will use my Canon EOS 1000D and compare.

IMGP0746

David Lee Martin

Functional US Army Veteran

Leave a Reply

